The following electronic databases are provided for the use of Longview Public Library patrons only. Some of these databases are available from home but require your library card number as your password unless otherwise noted. If you experience difficulty in using one of these databases, please contact the Reference Department.
The following electronic databases are provided for the use of Longview Public Library patrons only. Some of these databases are available from home but require your library card number as your password unless otherwise noted. If you experience difficulty in using one of these databases, please contact the Library for assistance.
| Finding Books | Research |
| Genealogy | Student Resources |
| News | Online Resources |
Library of Texas Search Texas Library online catalogs and online databases from a single, simple search screen. Find books, magazine articles, newspapers, encyclopedias, online resources and much more. Subjects include business, history, genealogy, homework help, literature, medicine, science, and reference material. Spanish materials also available. You must receive a logon and password from the Reference Desk to access this information.
Novelist is a reader advisory service available from Ebsco. It helps readers find books to read. It can be searched by author, title, and plot summary. It provides lists of books by awards and genre. Book discussion materials, book talk ideas, author interviews, and links to author pages are just a few of the additional services provided. When asked for a password, use your library card number. Link from Library (no ID required)
TexShare Perfect for research at all educational levels, this database offers full-text magazine articles, encyclopedias, primary sources, and tips for doing research. Requires the TexShare username and password available at the Reference Desk.
Ancestry Library Edition is one of the most important genealogical collections available today. It has unparalleled coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. This collection is an essential genealogy tool and its valuable content is a strong complement to HeritageQuest Online. Home access is not available for this database.
Archive of Americana is a family of historical collections from NewsBank containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers and government documents printed in America over three centuries. Explore America's past and present with searchable American newspapers dating back from the Early Colonial Era to the present. To use from home, enter your library card number when prompted.
Fold3 (formerly known as Footnote) is a place where original historical documents are combined with social networking. The collections feature documents relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, historical newspapers and more. Footnote is an online community where members are able to share their content and insights. Accessible from home with free registration (limited access). Full access available from Library computers.
Heritage Quest Online, available from TexShare, provides tools to search family history. Search census, books, the United States Serial Set, genealogy and local history articles and more. Requires the TexShare username and password available at the Reference Desk.
Mocavo is a wonderful search engine dedicated to all things genealogy. Use Mocavo to help you find the free information that's hiding across the internet.
Ebsco provides access to a wide variety of full-text newspaper and magazine articles suitable for students of all ages. Includes Spanish language magazines and newspapers. Link from Library (no ID required)
Morningstar Investment Research Center is a database that includes up-to-date information on stocks, mutual funds and other investments. *In order to access the database from outside of the Longview Public Library, you will need to use this link and enter your library card number.
Investing For The Long Run: A free guide with strategies and solutions to help you shape up your personal finances. Compliments of your library and Morningstar.
NewsBank provides convenient, cover-to-cover access to several Texas newspapers including Dallas Morning News, Austin American-Statesman, Fort Worth Star Telegram, Houston Chronicle, and San Antonio Express News. Enter your library card number to access this resource.
NewsBank: Longview News-Journal is a direct link to search the local newspaper, Longview News-Journal, through the Newsbank database. Use this shortcut to search all of teh articles, obituaries, announcements and more as far back as April 27, 2002.
Research Databases
Ebsco provides access to a wide variety of full-text newspaper and magazine articles suitable for students of all ages. Includes Spanish language magazines and newspapers. Link from Library (no ID required)
Library Of Texas Search Texas Library online catalogs and online databases from a single, simple search screen. Find books, magazine articles, newspapers, encyclopedias, online resources and much more. Subjects include business, history, genealogy, homework help, literature, medicine, science, and reference material. Spanish materials also available. You must receive a logon and password from the Reference Desk to access this information.
ReferenceUSA is a unique database with information on 14 million U.S. businesses -- great for job seekers, researchers, students and businesses. Common uses are finding businesses based on employee size, sales volume, type of business and location. Find executives, corporate families and company descriptions. It also includes 135 million U.S. households to conduct market research, and locate friends and relatives. For help using this database, please ask at the Reference Desk. To use from home, enter your library card number when prompted for a password. Sample Search Handout
Salem Press Health brings online access to Salem Press’ award-winning health reference works. Now available on Salem Health is Salem Health: Cancer. This four-volume set covers more than 800 topics of crucial interest to students, patients, caregivers, and others who have received a diagnosis or are associated with those who have cancer. Print versions are available here at Longview Public Library. Click here for Library access (no ID required). Click here for remote access; enter your 13-digit barcode found on the back of your borrower's card into the "Access password or barcode" field and click submit for access.
Salem Press History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets. This online format provides updated coverage of the reference set Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives, available in printed format here at the Library. Click here for Library access (no ID required). Click here for remote access; enter your 13-digit barcode found on the back of your borrower's card into the "Access password or barcode" field and click submit for access.
Salem Press Literature provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned literary content both in traditional, printed form and online. This online format provides updated coverage of information available in printed format here at the Library. Click here for Library access (no ID required). Click here for remote access; enter your 13-digit barcode found on the back of your borrower's card into the "Access password or barcode" field and click submit for access.
TexShare Perfect for research at all educational levels, this database offers full-text magazine articles, encyclopedias, primary sources, and tips for doing research. Requires the TexShare username and password available at the Reference Desk.
Ebsco Kids features a Kids Search feature. After entering your ID on the main Ebsco page, look for the Kids Search. It has many great resources geared towards younger students that are presented in a fun, colorful and educational online environment. Link from Library (no ID required)
Ebsco Students features many great resources geared towards older students that are presented in a clear, fun and educational online environment. After entering your ID on the main Ebsco page, look for the Kids Search. Link from Library (no ID required)
MasterFile for Children is a specialty database designed for middle and high school students from Ebsco Databases. Enter your library card number when prompted for a password. Link from Library (no ID required)
Oxford Islamic Studies Included in this database are learning resources,such as Thematic Guides, Teaching Islam – a 12 chapter written guide for educators teaching topics on Islam, Geography of the Islamic World – with maps, lesson plans and more.
Powerspeak is our new language database from Gale. Powerspeak provides users with the ability to learn, apply and enjoy a new language quickly and more proficiently using a variety of proven methods that engage all types of learners. Choose from Spanish, French, German, Mandarin Chinese and ESL For Spanish Speakers. You will need to create a free account.
Searchasaurus is a specialty database from Ebsco designed for elementary age students. It contains an encyclopedia and dictionary, as well as magazine databases suited for primary and middle school students. Enter your library card number when prompted for a password. Link from Library (no ID required)
Universal Class is an online database of classes for personal enrichment and/or continuing education. With more than 500 courses to choose from, there's something for everyone from pie baking and spirituality to domestic violence prevention and writing poetry. There's also teaching resources available and some courses can be used to meet job requirements for continuing education courses. You will need to create a free account and can only be enrolled in up to 5 courses at a time.
Index to Texas Magazines and Documents begins with 1990. Coverage includes major statewide magazines and Texas documents of broad interest, particularly in business, education, history and government. Quick Search provides fast keyword searching, while advanced search allows limiting by author, periodical, date and cross-terms. Citations can be marked for export and for creation of bibliographies. This is a free resource from Victoria College/University of Houston-Victoria Library.
American Libraries from the Internet Archive is part of an internet library that seeks to offer permanent access to historical collections in digital format. The Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software, as well as archived web pages in its collections. This is a free resource from Internet Archive.
The New Handbook of Texas is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture. This is a free resource from the Texas State Historical Association.
Enter search terms in the box above to search our complete catalog
|
Longview Public Library |
Broughton Branch 801 S. Martin Luther King Blvd. Longview, TX 75606 Tel: 903-237-1326 |
|
|
The use of this site is subject to the City of Longview Privacy Policy and Disclaimer. © Copyright City of Longview, Texas |
||
